Sherry Rehman (b 21 December 1960) is Pakistan’s ambassador to the United States. A member of the Pakistan People's Party (PPP) she was appointed to the National Assembly after the 2002 election. She served as the Federal Minister for Information and Broadcasting from March 2008 until March 2009.

Read more about Sherry Rehman

Qazi Hussain Ahmad (b 12 January 1938) is the former ameer (head) of the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI). He became a member of the JI in 1970 and served JI as secretary and then ameer of its North West Frontier Province (NWFP) branch. He was elected as ameer of the party in 1987, an office he held till 2010.

Read more about Qazi Hussain Ahmad

Samia Raheel Qazi (b 24 April 1965) is the daughter of Jamaat-i-Islami (JI) former ameer (head) Qazi Hussain Ahmed. She is also an active member of the JI and the president of its women’s wing. She was elected as a member of the National Assembly in 2002.

Read more about Samia Raheel Qazi

Majida Rizvi is the first woman judge of a high court in Pakistan. During her career she practiced in the High Court and the Supreme Court of Pakistan. She is a staunch advocate of women’s rights and has taught and written widely on the subject.

Read more about Majida Rizvi

Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto (1928-1979) was the president and then prime minister of Pakistan from 1971-1977. He founded the Pakistan’s People Party (PPP) and was its chairman till his death in 1979. Following a political crisis in the country, Bhutto was imprisoned by General Zia-ul-Haq, who imposed Martial Law on July 5, 1977.

Read more about Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto

Benazir Bhutto (1953-2007) was the chair of the center-left Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) and the prime minister of Pakistan from 1988 to 1990 and from 1993 to 1996. The eldest daughter of prime minister Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto she, along with other members of her family, was imprisoned by General Zia ul Haq soon after he removed Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto in a military coup in 1977.

Read more about Benazir Bhutto

Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif (b 25 December 1949) is a Pakistani politician and businessman and the president of the center-right Pakistan Muslim League (N) (Nawaz group). He is widely regarded as Zia ul Haq’s protege as he rose to political prominence during his rule. He served as Punjab finance minster (1981-85) and Chief Minister (1985-90) under Zia.

Read more about Mian Muhammad Nawaz Sharif

Dr. Israr Ahmed (1932-2010) was an Islamic scholar and the founder of the Tanzeem-i-Islami, an off-shoot of the Jamaat-i-Islami. Following the creation of Pakistan in 1947 he worked for the Islami Jamiat-e-Talba and then for the Jamaat-i-Islami (JI). A doctor by profession Ahmed was also a teacher of the Quran and a strong believer and advocate of Islamic revival.

Read more about Israr Ahmed

General Zia ul Haq (1922-1988) was Chief of Army Staff from 1976-1988, Chief Martial Law Administrator from 1977-78 and the President of Pakistan from 1978 till his death in 1988. He assumed power in 1977 in a military coup which overthrew the elected government of Zulfiqar Ali Bhutto.

Read more about Zia ul Haq

General Pervez Musharraf (b11 August 1943) was the Chief of Army Staff and the 10th president of Pakistan. He took over power from the elected Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) government of Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif in a bloodless coup in 1999.

Read more about Pervez Musharraf